Get to Know Us and Our Small Homestead

Standard

DSCF1842

Hello. Here you will learn a bit about me and about Mr. Blue Eyes 
I am a wife, mother, grandmother, who is also a gardener, produce preserver, avid reader, and occasional needleworker.  I enjoy auctions, estate sales, thrift shops, antique shops, and finding real bargains.   My husband is Mr. Blue Eyes and he is my hero for many reasons.  He enjoys reading, knocking around with me at the auctions, thrift shops, and antique shops, gardening, building things, and is beginning to lose some of his enthusiasm for home renovations; although, there are just a few projects left to complete.  We are retired and enjoying it!  We are organic homesteading gardeners and are trying to only use heirloom seeds, no GMO seeds or plants for us.

We live within the city limits; but manage to grow most of our own produce and berries.  We have a sizeable lot on which to grow.   What we do buy we get from our local farmers’ market.  We do not have farm animals, as we are within the city limits.  However, we have discussed adding some chickens.  I have chicken envy and would really like the limited number of chickens that we are restricted to.  It would be great to have the eggs and meat.  We are still considering the issue and our commitment to “chicken care”  along with the need for a coop and run area, as well as the protection we would need to provide for the flock.  We have the next few months to consider the issues and make a decision.

Since we have no “meat” animals, we do purchase our beef from a local farm that raises grass fed, grass finished beef.  They use no chemicals on their pasture nor use any to treat the herd.  We have been getting organic pork from another vendor at the farmers’ market.  We’ve not found a source for chicken, as yet, we are still searching, thus the consideration of raising our own.   We shall see what God has in store and the future holds.

Affiliates
I have several affiliate partners and will sometimes post a special offer, a free book for Kindle readers, or a product that you can purchase. You are able to click on an image or a link, on my blog, that will take you to that company’s site, where you may read or see product details. pricing, shipping, etc. You may order your item right on the company page or website, then they (the company) will have your order and payment information and the company will proceed with your order. After your order is processed, that affiliate partner will send me a small commission for advertising their product on my blog.

I will occasionally endorse or offer pros and/or cons on a product, available for purchase, that I personally own, have used, or have seen one of my personal friends use. This will be my opinion, no one else’s, and I do not get compensation for endorsing any product; therefore, will not influence my opinion.

My hope is that you will choose to order items via my page as any commission earned will support my blog and perhaps allow me to purchase other items that I might wish to review and possibly endorse. Thank you for clicking on images and links on my blog or my facebook page to order the item through the company. I appreciate you and all my readers. Some of my present affiliate partners: Amazon, Rose Mountain Herbs, various eBook authors, and I am adding others in the near future.

2 thoughts on “Get to Know Us and Our Small Homestead

  1. No GMO – right on! Thanks for stopping by today. I actually contacted Ball company. They gave a typical response – we did a lot of research before changing our packaging, etc. They said it is the temp. that seals the lids not the way it’s packaged. We had 6 weeks of triple digit weather. I can’t imagine how hot and for how long the jars were in the back of a semi being shipped. Basically, they just don’t care:( I haven’t had jars break, just not seal. Did you have the rack in the bottom of the pot? Maybe they got stressed (crushed) in shipping. We are going from dark to dark right now. I have saved your blog address so I can stop back by when I can read more.
    Have a wonderful evening.

    Like

  2. Hi Brenda, and thanks for visiting Common Sense Homesteading. Nice to hear from a fellow gardener and homesteader.

    I couldn’t help but notice that you’ve left the Meta area live on your sidebar. I highly recommend removing it from the display, as it will allow unwanted (and potentially problematic) users to log in to your website. i made the same mistake when I first switched to wordpress. I also recommend installing the Wordfence Security plugin, if you haven’t already.

    Like

Leave a Reply

