What’s Happening?

Standard

Mr. Blue Eyes is almost finished with the wood splitting and stacking project. Our friend that was helping has a back problem and some of the pieces of the trunk are quite large and extremely heavy. Friend is also having a metal roof put on his house and there needs to be “supervision”. So Blue Eyes has been struggling alone and is now finished with the big pieces; although, he just cut and split today. He plans to finish the smaller pieces tomorrow and then stack it all. Pray it doesn’t rain until he’s finished. I guess red oak doesn’t cut or split very easily.

Yesterday, I was in the mood for potato soup for lunch. Neither of us usually cooks for lunch; but, I made myself potato soup. Mr. Blue Eyes isn’t fond of potato soup anytime, so I only make enough for myself. I decided before I started to make enough for at least 4 days. There’s no recipe for it that I follow, I lightly sauté about 1/2 cup diced onion or a small leek (but I didn’t want to go outside to pull a leek yesterday), 2 stalks celery, and when it is translucent I add 1 clove minced garlic, then add enough chicken stock to cover veggies. I like to make this soup fairly nutritious so add 1 diced carrot, a handful of minced or chopped up fresh spinach, and about a tiny handful of fresh parsley. Make sure the stock is covering the veggies. Throw in a slightly hand crushed fresh bay leaf from my bay tree, 1/2tsp dried thyme or 1 & 1/2 tsp fresh, salt (I use sea salt) and freshly ground pepper to taste. I added 3 medium diced potatoes and simmered this for 15 min or until vegetables are soft and tender, remove the bay leaf. I usually use an immersion blender to chop it all into a creamy soup texture. I always did this or used the blender when our children were small so they didn’t recognize the spinach or carrots. When blended well, I add milk and 1/2 & 1/2, taste for salt and pepper and add some real butter in amount I feel comfortable adding. May need to reheat depending on amount milk 1/2 & 1/2. I would/do dish it into bowls and always sprinkled fresh ground mixed pepper on the top, which disguises the little orange flecks that the children then thought they were from the pepper they liked and ate my potato soup.

Tonight’s dinner was creamed chicken, using leftover roast chicken that was frozen after a couple lunch sandwiches for MR. Blue Eyes. Anyway, he made the biscuits as he makes really good biscuits. Just used the basic, but unwritten, recipe for good old chicken a’la king and served over those delicious biscuits. He bakes good biscuits; but, I just can’t talk him into baking bread. LOL!

Leave a Reply

